© Iguana Deutschland GmbH
Contact & Imprint
Data Privacy


The WORLD INLINE CUP (WIC) is since 2000 the highest international marathon series for inline speed skaters. The world´s best skaters take part in the world's most demanding and biggest marathon races in Europe and Asia and meet fitness skaters from all over the globe. The overall winners will receive prize money after the season. Since 2014 the organizer of the WORLD INLINE CUP is IGUANA Deutschland GmbH


The World Inline Cup stands for top sport. The best skaters in the world are at the start of every event. They appreciate the perfect organisation, the most beautiful and centrally-located courses, and the professional marketing of the Inline Skating sport in the media. And they know that the organisers of the Inline movement love the sport.

The World Inline Cup stands for mass movement. Every stage is also a festival on rollers without discrimination, without licenses. For the large masses the fun-oriented experience is first and foremost: the thrilling atmosphere, the pulsating program and the knowledge that the hobby skaters are taken just as seriously as the pros by hat organisers. The World Inline Cup is a platform for the entire family and with family-related services.

The World Inline Cup successfully combines sport, fun and adventure with culture. The core of events is the pulsating Inline Village with the best brands, the newest products and exciting activities. And of course, parties with imaginative catering are part of the experience.


1st STAGE OF WORLD INLINE CUP 2024 IN FUNCHAL, MADEIRA Lianne van Loon (NED) from DOUBLEff World Team & Julio Mirena (PAR) from SheaStokes Inline Speed Team winner of the Marathon

Berlin, Funchal, 2nd June 2024 – To kick off the 25th season of the WORLD INLINE CUP, the series started this year on the Portuguese island of Madeira in the harbour of Funchal. For the 5th time, the WIC took place in Fuchal against the impressive backdrop of this beautiful island. Once again, 17 laps of the island's capital harbour had to be completed. An international field of top-class starters lined up at the start line for the women's and men's races. Last year's winner Aura Quintana (COL) from the new SPSPSK World Team had to compete against Dutchwoman Liana von Loon (DOUBLEff World Inline Team) and local favourite Jésicca Rodriguez (POR) from the Madeira WIC Team, among others.

The men's field included top athletes such as Patxi Peula (ESP) Matte Barison (ITA), both from the Rollerblade World Team, Julio Mirena (PAR) Shea Stokes Inline Team and Daniel Nero (ITA) from the SPSPSK World Team. The weather conditions were ideal for the athletes and the numerous spectators with low winds and cloudy but dry skies.

In the men's race, Julio Mirena broke away from the field and quickly extended his lead. The chasing group around Patxi Peula and Daniel Niero appeared to be a little surprised by this early attack. Despite several attempts, the group was unable to catch up with Mirena, who crossed the finish line in first place with a great time (59:00.11) and a lead of just under a minute, to great cheers. There was a spectacular sprint to the finish for the other podium places in the men's race, which Daniel Niero won by the blink of an eye ahead of Patxi Peula.

In the women's race, the top field of starters remained largely together despite individual attempts to break away. The change between downhill and uphill became increasingly noticeable over the course of the 17 laps and increasingly sapped the strength of the athletes. At the end of the race, there was also an exciting sprint to the finish in the women's race, which was won by Dutch rider Lianne van Loon ahead of Aura Quintana and Jéssica Rodriguez.

Women's Podium:

  1. Place   Lianne Van Loon (Netherlands) DOUBLEff World Inline Team - 1:14:06.342
  2. Place   Aura Quintana (Colombia) SPSPSK World Team - 1:14:06.529
  3. Place   Jessica Rodrigues (Portugal) Madeira WIC Team - 1:14:06.984

Men's Podium:

  1. Julio Mirena (Paraguay) SheaStokes Inline Speed Team - 59:00.115
  2. Daniel Niero SPSPSK World Team (Italy) - 1:00:59.050
  3. Patxi Peula Rollerblade World Team (Spain) - 1:00:59.060

Following the Madeira Roller Marathon, the next stop of the WORLD INLINE CUP 2024 will be in Rennes, France, on 9 June. The Rennes marathon is set to be another exhilarating marathon, continuing the momentum of the season opener.

For further information, please visit www.world-inline-cup.com and/or contact:

Volker Schlichting

IGUANA Deutschland GmbH

Tel. +49 30 83 21 794 20



Harbin, 10th August 2024