© Iguana Deutschland GmbH
Contact & Imprint
Data Privacy


WIC Final in Berlin - Bart Swings Wins The Race But Patxi Peula Gets The Trophy

Belgian Bart Swings (Powerslide Matter World Team) repeats his win in the world’s largest inline marathon - Spaniard Patxi Peula (EO Skates World Team) wins the overall WIC ranking.

Surprise in the women´s race as two skaters from Argentina, Maira Yaqueline Arias and Rocio Berbel Alt upset the European elite skater establishment. Katharina Rumpus won the WIC trophy after a fifth place in Berlin today.

The Grand Slam of Inline skating culminated today on its sixth and last leg of this year´s WORLD INLINE CUP. Berlin, saw around 5600 inline skaters and a great elite field, probably the best ever. The marathon race on the 42-kilometer loop was accompanied by an extended inline skating programme featuring several kids´ races.

Men's race decided at Brandenburg gate 300 metres from the finish line

„This victory is so different to last year´s when I had won in a mass sprint. This year I was skating together with Patxi, who was very strong for about 27 kilometres, but I could leave him behind on the last couple of hundreds of meters “, said the victorious Bart Swings after the race.

Women's race decided soon

The women’s race was similar, as two skaters broke away early and arrived five minutes ahead of the third. These were the two Argentinians, the winner Maira Yaqueline Arias (MX TAKINO Team) and runner-up Rocio Berbel Alt. “This is something I had not expected! To win the most prestigious inline marathon on the road feels just great!” 

Final rankings WORLD INLINE CUP 2017

After six legs in Incheon (KOR), Rennes (FRA), Dijon (FRA), Ostrava (CZE), Harbin (CHN) and Berlin (GER):

1. Patxi Peula (ESP, EO Skates World Team) - 494 points

2. Ewen Fernandez (FRA, Powerslide Matter Racing Team) - 470 points

3. Bart Swings (BEL, Powerslide Matter Racing Team) - 444 points

1. Katharina Rumpus (GER, Powerslide Matter Racing Team) - 539 points

2. Ana Odlazek (SLO)- 322 points

3. Chloé Geoffroy (FRA, Powerslide Ligne Droite) -206 points

Men Juniors
1. Martin Ferrié (FRA, EOSkates World Team) - 116 points

2. Jan Pribik (CZE, Czech National Junior Team) - 107 points

3. Doucelin Pedicone (FRA) - 96 points

Women Junior 

1. Chloé Geoffroy (FRA, Powerslide Ligne Droite) - 206 points

2. Mariia Shostak (UKR, SAM Racing Team) -21 points

Quick Links